Media Centre

NTI Presidents Gives out Annual Awards

(October 21, 2015 –Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik President Cathy Towtongie awarded three Inuit with NTI President’s Awards last night at the annual general meeting feast in Iqaluit.

Each year, the awards are bestowed upon three recipients who have made a significant contribution to preserve Inuit culture and lead community initiatives. This year’s recipients are Aiolah Takolik of Taloyoak, Raymond Ningeocheak of Coral Harbour and Nuna Parr of Cape Dorset.

Towtongie commended Takolik for his long-standing involvement in many different community groups in Taloyoak, including the housing association, district education authority, and the Kitikmeot Inuit Association. Raymond Ningeocheak was involved in the Tungavik Federation of Nunavut prior to his long-standing service as vice-president of NTI and then the Kivalliq Inuit Association. Mr. Ningeocheak also serves on the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board. Nuna Parr of Cape Dorset received an NTI President’s Award in recognition of his contribution to Inuit art and culture as an internationally renowned carver, and because of the role he plays in continuing to provide food for his fellow community members.

All recipients were awarded a plaque and a $500 prize.

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated