Media Centre

NTI Names Recipients of 2016 President’s Awards

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) President Cathy Towtongie announced the recipients of the 2016 President’s Awards during last night’s feast held as part of the annual general meeting in Rankin Inlet.

Chris Cousins of Ottawa was recognized for his hard work in pushing the Qulliq Energy Corporation to recognize its obligation to implement Article 23 of the Nunavut Agreement. Louie Kamookak of Gjoa Haven was recognized for his role in collecting the oral history surrounding the lost Franklin ships, which led to the discovery of the HMS Erebus in 2014 and the HMS Terror in 2016. Sammy Kogvik of Gjoa Haven was recognized for his role in leading the researchers to discover the wreckage of the HMS Terror outside Gjoa Haven last month. Charlie Panigoniak of Rankin Inlet was recognized for his contribution to Inuit and Canadian culture through his popular music, and Raigilee Piugituq of Clyde River was recognized for her work as a counsellor with the Ilisaqsivik Society.

“Each one of these recipients has played a role in promoting and advancing Inuit rights and culture, and they deserve recognition from their peers in Nunavut,” said Towtonige.

Recipients each received $500 and a plaque recognizing the award.


For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated