Media Centre

NTI Congratulates Monica Ell-Kanayuk and Lisa Koperqualuk as new President and Vice President of ICC Canada

(July 18, 2018 – Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) President Aluki Kotierk today congratulated Ms. Monica Ell Kanayuk on her election as the next President of the Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) Canada and Ms. Lisa Koperqualuk as the next Vice President.

“NTI Board and staff look forward to a collaborative working relationship to ensure Inuit are well represented internationally at the Arctic Council, the United Nations and other international bodies. I want to thank outgoing president Ms. Nancy Karetak-Lindell and vice president Mr. Herb Nakimayak for their service to Inuit in Canada. Finally, I express a heartfelt appreciation to all the candidates who submitted their names for consideration by the ICC Canada board.”

Monica Ell Kanayuk’s distinguished career in Nunavut include: a Member of the Legislative Assembly for Iqaluit- Manirajak, Cabinet Minister and Director of the Inuit Broadcasting Corporation board.

Election for both positions were held in Utqiavik, Alaska on July 15, 2018. Both ICC Canada President and ICC Vice President will serve a four-year term from 2018 until 2022.

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated