Media Centre

NTI Announces 2017 Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship

(August 24, 2017 – Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. President Aluki Kotierk today announced the recipients of the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak (JAK) Scholarship for 2017.  Pauline Copland of Arviat and Karla Malaiya Evaloakjuk of Pond Inlet will each receive $5,000 towards their studies.  Copland is taking her Masters of Education at the University of Regina and Evaloakjuk is in her third year of the Nunavut Teachers Education Program (NTEP).  Both submitted essays in Inuktut.

“Congratulations Pauline and Karla on being selected as the recipients of the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship.  I am especially proud that both submissions were written in Inuktut and I am encouraged that they are pursuing studies in the education field.” said Kotierk

The jury reviewed 23 applications in total, which is higher than previous years.

The next deadline for applications for the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship is July 9th, 2018.  Application packages will be available on NTI’s website.  Inuit students who are enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement and pursuing post-secondary studies are eligible for the scholarship.

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated