Media Centre

News Release: Gas Voucher Program

For Immediate Release

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.’s Gas Voucher Program

(February 22, 2023, Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) is pleased to announce the roll-out of its Gas Voucher Program. The program will provide a one-time $750 gas voucher to harvesting households in all Nunavut communities.

The program is geared towards supporting Nunavut Inuit who harvest, process, and share traditional foods. The rising costs of fuel and equipment is a significant barrier to accessing country food and NTI’s Gas Voucher Program was developed to help alleviate some costs experienced by harvesters.

The Gas Voucher Program is funded through the Harvesters Support Grant (HSG), which supports food sharing within communities, increase community harvesting and sharing, and increase the number of harvesters engaged in traditional hunting, fishing, and gathering activities.

Community Liaison Officers (CLO’s) in each Nunavut community will distribute the gas vouchers on a first-come first-served basis. The gas vouchers in Rankin Inlet will be distributed from the NTI office. Harvesters will need to provide their name, NTI # and house address to pick-up the Gas Vouchers. Harvester information will be logged by the CLO to ensure one voucher is provided per household.

As this is a one-time distribution program, once each community has distributed its full allotment of vouchers, no more vouchers will be provided. No replacement vouchers will be issued due to loss or damage. The vouchers have no cash value, no cash back, and can only be used for gas. The vouchers must be used by January 1, 2024. Home heating fuel is excluded.

Gas voucher distribution will begin on Thursday, February 23, 2023.

Below is a list of where vouchers can be picked up in each community and the gas retailers accepting vouchers under this Program:

Community Voucher Distributor Gas Retailer Accepting Vouchers

Qikiqtaaluk Region

Arctic Bay Jack Willie – CLO Taqqut Coop
Clyde River Mario Sanguya – CLO Akuniq Enterprises
Grise Fiord Alaasua Audlakuluk – CLO Siku Services Inc.
Igloolik Richard Amarualik – CLO Igloolik Coop
Iqaluit Adrian Toomasie – CLO QC Baffin Gas Bar and Arctic Coop Iqaluit Gas Bar
Kimmirut Perry Ikkidluar- CLO Kimik Coop
Kinngait Jutai Toonoo Jr. – CLO West Baffin Coop
Pangnirtung Sheena Machmer – CLO Pangnirtung Coop
Pond Inlet Lamech Kadloo – CLO Tununiq Sauniq Coop
Qikiqtarjuak Lorna Kullualik – CLO Tulugak Coop
Resolute Bay Susan Salluviniq / Suupi Idlout– CLO ATCO Structures & Logistics
Sanirajak Lily Arnaqjuaq – CLO Hall Beach Coop
Sanikiluaq Julia Emikutailak – CLO Mitiq Coop

Kivalliq Region

Arviat Hilda Panigoniak – CLO Arviat Gas Bar
Baker Lake Valerie Niego – CLO Arctic Fuel Services
Chesterfield Inlet Valerie Ipkarnerk – CLO Pitsiulak Coop
Coral Harbour Ronnie Ningeongan – CLO Sudliq Developments LTD.
Naujaat Elizabeth Mapsalak – CLO Naujat Coop
Rankin Inlet Norman Okalik – NTI OFFICE Sakku Enterprises
Whale Cove Elizabeth Voisey – CLO Issatik Coop

Kitikmeot Region

Cambridge Bay Junna Ehaloak – CLO Qillaq Innovations
Gjoa Haven Keith Nimiqtaqtuq – CLO Qikiqtaq Coop
Kugaaruk Vincent Ningark – CLO Koomiut Coop
Kugluktuk Melissa MacDonald – CLO Kugluktuk Coop
Taloyoak Jayko Neeveacheak – CLO Paleajook Coop


Kevin Kablutsiak

Director, Communications, Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.

Download (PDF, 216KB)