Media Centre

Nunavut Tunngavik Announces PSA Contest Winners

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. President Cathy Towtongie today announced the winners of the NTI Elections 2014 public service announcement contest for Grade 9 Social Studies students. The contest was part of the joint curriculum initiative launched by NTI and the Government of Nunavut this year.

Students were asked to record digital public service announcements encouraging young Inuit to vote in NTI Elections. The Grade 9 class at Inuujaq School in Arctic Bay won $2,500 for first place with their submission. Tusarvik School Grade 9 students in Repulse Bay won second place and $1,000. Submissions will be broadcast in Nunavut via NTI’s website as well as social media websites.

“I am pleased to see young students understanding the importance of exercising their right to vote in elections. I hope these videos encourage young Inuit across Nunavut to learn more about democracy and participate in all elections in the territory,” said Towtongie.

NTI will host an election for vice-president on Dec. 8, 2014. Douglas Aggark (Chesterfield Inlet), James Eetoolook (Taloyoak) and Jesse Mike (Iqaluit) submitted their nomination papers for the election of vice-president. Voters now have five ways to vote in NTI elections.

Voters can vote at advance polls on Dec. 1, on election day on Dec. 8, by mobile poll, proxy vote or mail-in ballot. Inuit who are Canadian citizens, 16 years of age or older, and enrolled under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement are eligible to vote in the upcoming election.

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated