Media Centre

NTI Releases Unofficial Presidential Candidates List

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. Chief Returning Officer Adamee Itorcheak announced that NTI’s nomination period for the election of president closed at 5 p.m. local time today.


Mikidjuk Akavak, Larry Audlaluk, Savikataaq Ford, Paul Kaludjak, Vinnie Karetak, Jerry Komaksiutiksak, David Kunuk, Gabriel Nirlungayuk, Bernadette Niviatsiak, Manitok Thompson, and Cathy Towtongie submitted their nomination papers for the election of president. Candidates have until Nov. 5, 2012, at 5 p.m. local time to withdraw their papers.


Towtongie is taking a leave of absence from NTI in accordance with NTI’s election rules. NTI Vice-President James Eetoolook will serve as NTI’s acting president during the election period.


The election will take place Dec. 10, 2012. Voters can head to advance polls Dec. 3, 2012, and can also vote by proxy.


Eligible candidates and voters must be Canadian citizens, at least 16 years of age, and enrolled or eligible to enroll under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated