Media Centre

IBC to Produce NTI Elections All Candidates Forum

NR 08-09 ACF ENG All Candidates Forum.doc

(February 22, 2008 — Iqaluit, Nunavut) NTI Elections Chief Returning Officer Adamee Itorcheak today announced that Inuit Broadcasting Corporation would produce an all candidates forum phone-in show (Qanuq Isumavit?) for the nominees running for president and vice-president of finance in the upcoming NTI Elections, scheduled for March 18, 2008.

Qanuq Isumavit? will air live on Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2008 from 8-9 p.m. EST on APTN North only. Callers can call 1-800-337-6186 or from Iqaluit 979-0810 with their questions for candidates. Callers are asked to keep their questions very short. All candidates for president and vice-president of finance will be given a two-minute opportunity to respond to the questions.

Competing for the position of president is Mickey Akavak, Jack Anawak, Paul Kaludjak, and Abraham Tagalik. Competing for the position of vice-president of finance is Jayko Aloolloo, James T. Arreak, and Raymond Ningeocheak. Candidates have until Feb. 22 at 5 p.m. local time to withdraw their nomination papers.

The position of president is a four-year term, while the position of vice-president of finance is a two-year term. Eligible voters can head to the Advance Poll on March 11, 2008 or cast their ballots on Voting Day, March 18, 2008 until 7 p.m. local time. Proxy forms are also available. Inuit who are Canadian citizens, 16 years of age or older and enrolled or eligible to enroll under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement can vote in the upcoming election.

For further information: