Media Centre

Voting Day for NTI Election for President

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) Chief Returning Officer Mary Wilman announced today polls will open on voting day for the NTI Election for President on Dec. 12, 2016, 10 a.m. – 7 p.m. local time.

The official candidates are: Levinia Brown, Aluki Kotierk, Joe Adla Kunuk and Cathy Towtongie.

Voters must be Canadian citizens, at least 16 years of age as of December 12, 2016, and enrolled or eligible to enroll under the Nunavut Agreement.

Voters can vote in person on election day, by proxy vote on election day or by mail-in ballot delivered on or before December 12.

Polling stations will be set up in all Nunavut communities, as well as four other locations, including Yellowknife, Edmonton, Winnipeg and Ottawa.

For further information:

Mary Wilman
Chief Returning Officer
Tel: (867) 979-6554
Toll-free: 1-844-979-6554