Media Centre

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. Announces the names of Candidates

NR 06-03 CAN ENG Candidates.doc

(February 22, 2006 — Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. Chief Returning Officer Patrick Tagoona today announced the names of the candidates who submitted their nomination papers for the position of 1st Vice-President and Vice-President of Finance.

NTI will hold an election for this position on March 21, 2006.

Iqaluit resident Joe Sageatook will challenge Taloyoak’s James Eetoolook for this position on the NTI Executive.

Eetoolook held the position of 1st Vice-President and Vice-President of Finance at NTI prior to submitting his nomination papers. As required by the NTI Elections Code of Conduct, Eetoolook has taken a leave of absence from his position during the NTI Elections period.

Candidates have until Friday, February 24, 2006 at 5 p.m. local time to withdraw from the race.

Inuit who are Canadian citizens, 16 years of age or older and enrolled under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement are eligible to vote in the upcoming election.

Voters may cast their ballots in their home communities during an advance poll on March 13 or on voting day, March 21, 2006 until 7 p.m. local time. Voting stations will also be set up in Yellowknife and Ottawa. Voters may also vote by proxy. Proxy forms are available from Tagoona or on NTI’s website,

For further information:

Kerry McCluskey
Director of Communications
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
Tel: (867) 975-4914 Toll-free: 1-888-646-0006