Media Centre

Nunavut Tunngavik Gives Official Notice of Election

NR 08-10 NOT ENG Notice of Election.doc

(February 20, 2008 — Iqaluit, Nunavut) NTI Elections Chief Returning Officer Adamee Itorcheak today gave official Notice of Election for the executive officer positions of president and vice-president of finance.

Competing for the position of president is Mickey Akavak of Kimmirut, Jack Anawak of Rankin Inlet, Paul Kaludjak of Iqaluit, and Abraham Tagalik of Iqaluit. Competing for the position of vice-president of finance is Jayko Aloolloo of Pond Inlet, James T. Arreak of Iqaluit and Raymond Ningeocheak of Rankin Inlet. Candidates have until Feb. 22 at 5 p.m. local time to withdraw their nomination papers.

The position of president is a four-year term, while the position of vice-president of finance is a two-year term.

Eligible voters can head to the Advance Poll on March 11 or cast their ballots on Voting Day, March 18 until 7 p.m. local time. Proxy forms are also available from Itorcheak, from community liaison officers, or from the NTI website.

Inuit who are Canadian citizens, 16 years of age or older and enrolled or eligible to enroll under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement can vote in the upcoming election.

For further information: