Media Centre

NTI Elections Bring in New President and 2nd Vice-President

NR 04-13 WIN ENG Election Winners.doc

(March 17, 2004 — Iqaluit, Nunavut) NTI Elections Chief Returning Officer Helen Klengenberg today announced the results of the elections for President and 2nd Vice-President of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.

Paul Kaludjak was elected President of NTI, beating incumbent Cathy Towtongie by 227 votes. Raymond Ningeocheak was re-elected 2nd Vice-President after beating his opponents in a landslide victory. Ningeocheak received 3,131 votes, for a total of 58 per cent of the total ballots cast.
We were very pleased with the efficient manner in which the NTI Elections were conducted, said Klengenberg. Voters didn’t encounter any major problems and the returns came in relatively fast. Our Deputy Returning Officers and their Poll Clerks are to be commended for their excellent work, she said.
President Kaludjak and 2nd Vice-President Ningeocheak will be sworn in to office on Thursday morning, March 18, at 9 a.m. in the NTI offices in Iqaluit. A two-day meeting of the full NTI Executive will follow that ceremony.
A community feast will be held at 6 p.m. the same evening to allow Nunavummiut the opportunity to meet the new Executive. Members of the public are invited to attend the feast at Inuksuk high school in Iqaluit.
Approximately 37 per cent of eligible Inuit voted in yesterday’s election. Inuit 16 years of age and older who are eligible to enroll under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement were permitted to vote in yesterday’s election.
A complete breakdown of the elections results follows:
NTI President NTI 2nd Vice-President
Archie Angnakak 803 Stanley Anablak 678
Paul Kaludjak 2,038 Jeannie Evalik 821
Ben Kovic 865 Raymond Ningeocheak 3,131
Cathy Towtongie 1,811 Hezekiah Oshutapik 769

For further information:

Helen Klengenberg
Chief Returning Officer