Media Centre

Inuit Beneficiaries Head to the Polls to Vote

NR 04-12 VOT ENG Voting Day.doc

(March 9, 2004 — Iqaluit, Nunavut) NTI Elections Chief Returning Officer Helen Klengenberg today announced that Inuit beneficiaries will head to the polls March 16, 2004 to elect a President and 2nd Vice-President to the Executive of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.

Presidential candidates include:
Archie Angnakak
Ben Kovic
Paul Kaludjak
Cathy Towtongie

Candidates for 2nd Vice-President include:
Stanley Anablak
Jeannie Evalik
Raymond Ningeocheak
Hezekiah Oshutapik

Inuit who are Canadian citizens, 16 years of age or older and eligible to enroll as beneficiaries under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement can vote in NTI Elections.

Polling stations in all Nunavut communities and in Yellowknife and Ottawa are open from 10 a.m. – 7 p.m. local time.

Advance Polls were held yesterday for those eligible Nunavummiut unable to cast their ballots next week.

For further information:

Helen Klengenberg
Chief Returning Officer