Media Centre

Eetoolook Re-elected for a Four-year Term

NR 06-11 WIN ENG Election Winners.doc

(March 22, 2006 — Iqaluit, Nunavut) NTI Elections Chief Returning Officer Patrick Tagoona today announced the results of the election for the position of 1st Vice-President and Vice-President of Finance.

James Eetoolook was re-elected to the NTI Executive Officer position, beating Iqaluit challenger Joe Sageatook by 1,816 votes. Of a possible 16,085 votes, 2,791 Inuit voted for Eetoolook while 895 voted for Sageatook. Voter turnout for the NTI Elections was recorded at 23 per cent.
We were very pleased with the efficient manner in which the NTI Elections were conducted, said Tagoona. Voters didn’t encounter any major problems and the returns came in quite fast. NTI Elections employees must be congratulated for their excellent work, he said.
Inuit who are at least 16 years of age and older, enrolled under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement and Canadian citizens were permitted to vote in yesterday’s election.