Media Centre

NTI Election – Unofficial List of Candidates

(November 13, 2020 – Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) Chief Returning Officer, Kathleen Sigurdson, announced NTI’s nomination period for the election of president closed at 5 p.m. today local time.

The following candidates submitted nomination papers in accordance with NTI’s Election Rules and Procedures for the election of president by the deadline:

Aluki Kotierk
Andrew Nakashuk

Candidates have until Monday, November 16, 2020 at 5 p.m. local time to withdraw their papers.

Voters must be 16 years of age or older as of December 14, 2020 and be enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement.

Voters have five ways to vote in NTI elections: advance polls on December 7, 2020, Election Day on December 14, by mobile poll, proxy vote or mail-in ballot.

NEW for 2020 – COVID Planning

In addition to the usual planning for weather conditions for the vote in December, NTI will also have contingency plans for COVID-19. NTI will follow the guidelines of Nunavut’s Chief Public Health Officer to ensure the safety of all candidates, staff and

2020 NTI President Election


Kathleen Sigurdson
Chief Returning Officer (CRO)
Rankin Inlet, NU, X0C 0G0
Local Tel: 867-645-6716
Toll Free: 1-844-979-6554

Nadia Ciccone

Office of the CRO – Ayaya Communications

Building 157, Iqaluit, NU, X0A 0H0

Tel: 867-979-1484

Fax: 867-979-1487


Download (PDF, 86KB)