Media Centre

NTI Releases Unofficial Vice-Presidential Candidates List

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. Chief Returning Officer Nancy Karetak-Lindell announced that NTI’s nomination period for the election of vice-president closed at 5 p.m. local time today.

Douglas Aggark (Chesterfield Inlet), James Eetoolook (Taloyoak) and Jesse Mike (Iqaluit) submitted their nomination papers for the election of vice-president. Candidates have until Nov. 3, 2014, at 5 p.m. local time to withdraw their papers.

Voters now have five ways to vote in NTI elections. Voters can vote at advance polls on Dec. 1, on election day on Dec. 8, by mobile poll, proxy vote or mail-in ballot.

Eligible candidates and voters must be Canadian citizens, at least 16 years of age, and enrolled or eligible to enroll under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated