Media Centre

NTI President’s Awards Recipients Named at AGM

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. President Cathy Towtongie named the recipients of the NTI President’s Awards at the annual general meeting in Cambridge Bay.

Each year, the awards are bestowed upon three recipients who have made a significant contribution to preserve Inuit culture and lead community initiatives. This year’s recipients are Elijah Erkloo for his contribution to the preservation of Inuktitut, Millie Kuliktana for her contribution to the preservation of Inuinnaqtun as well as her role in assisting Inuit, and Dr. Charlie Evalik for his long-standing commitment to the advancement of Inuit in the Kitikmeot region and Nunavut.

All recipients were awarded a plaque and a $500 prize.