Media Centre

NTI Congratulates Premier Quassa and Newly Elected Cabinet Ministers

(November 22, 2017 – Iqaluit, Nunavut)  Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) President Aluki Kotierk congratulated the Honorable Paul Quassa on his election as Premier, and on the selection of Cabinet Ministers.

“NTI looks forward to working in partnership and unity with the new government.  I am optimistic that this new government will specifically focus on Articles 23 and 32 and more generally on the full implementation of the Nunavut Agreement.  I am encouraged to hear the goals of Premier Quassa and look forward to embarking on a new era where we achieve a representative public service along with Inuktut as a working language of all sectors of our territory.” said Kotierk.

The first sitting of the 5th legislative assembly started on November 21st, 2017 with newly appointed Cabinet Ministers:  Premier Paul Quassa, Deputy Premier Joe Savikataaq, Elisapee Sheutiapik, David Akeeagok, Pat Angnakak, Jeannie Ehaloak, David Joanasie and Lorne Kusugak.

For further information:


Karen Flaherty

A/Director of Communications

Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated

Tel: (867) 975-4914 Toll-free: 1-888-646-0006

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated