Media Centre

NTI Announces Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. President Cathy Towtongie today announced the recipients of the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Memorial Scholarship. Emily Joanasie of Iqaluit and Monica Kiguktak of Grise Fiord will each receive $5,000 toward their studies in education. Both students are enrolled in the Nunavut Teacher Education Program at Nunavut Arctic College, Joanasie in Iqaluit, Kiguktak in Cambridge Bay.

“It gives me great pleasure as president of NTI to award these two hard-working students with the financial resources to assist them in pursuing their studies to become teachers in Nunavut,” said Towtongie. “I am certain that Jose would be honoured that two such capable Inuit students are carrying on his dedication to the promotion and preservation of Inuit language and culture.”

NTI received a total of 21 applications for the scholarship. A jury composed of NTI employees and Jose’s son Pujjuut reviewed the applications and chose to award the scholarships to Joanasie and Kiguktak because both students best demonstrated how they planned to continue the work Jose began so many years ago. Towtongie said the jury had a very difficult time because all the applications received were excellent.

“Our family would like to thank NTI for honouring my father, Jose, with this scholarship. It ensures that Inuit will continue to carry on his passion for Inuktitut and education. We must thank the applicants for their hard work in writing and displaying how they were influenced by Jose. It was very difficult to select the recipients and as a family, we congratulate Emily and Monica for a great job. Thank you and best of luck in continuing your education. I am sure my father would be very proud of your passion and commitment to Inuktitut and education,” said Pujjuut, speaking on behalf of the Kusugak family.

The next deadline for the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Memorial Scholarship is July 9, 2012. Students who are enrolled as Beneficiaries of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement are eligible for the scholarship. Application forms will be available from NTI and on the website.