Media Centre

NTI Announces 2014 Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship Recipients

(August 5, 2013 –Iqaluit, Nunavut)     Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. President Cathy Towtongie today announced the recipients of the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship for 2014. Elizabeth Ujarak McClintock of Arviat and Appolina Makkigak of Rankin Inlet will each receive $5,000 toward their studies. Elizabeth is pursuing Elementary Education at McGill University and Appolina is enrolled in the Nunavut Teacher’s Education Program in Rankin Inlet.

Once again, NTI’s jury had a very difficult time choosing the winners of the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship. The applications received were all truly outstanding.. A total of 15 students applied for the scholarship this year.

“Congratulations to Appolina and Elizabeth on receiving the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship.  We, the Kusugak family, wish you both the best of luck in continuing your education and look forward to your contributions to Nunavut and your fellow Nunavummiut.” said Pujjuut Kusugak, on behalf of his family,

NTI is making changes to the deadline for the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship next year. Effective in 2015, the application period will run from April 1 – May 31 each year. NTI’s jury will review all submitted applications in June and announce the winners each year on Nunavut Day, July 9.

Students enrolled under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement are eligible for the scholarship.



For further information:

Karen Flaherty

A/Director of Communications

Tel: (867) 975-4914 Toll-free: 1-888-646-0006

Cell: 867-222-2393