Media Centre

Kakiniit Grants Recipients Announced

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. President Cathy Towtongie and Nunavut Premier Eva Aariak today announced the names of the recipients of the Kakiniit Grants program.

Caroline Ipeelie-Qiatsuk – Cape Dorset

Eva Noah – Baker Lake

Nakasuk Alariaq – Cape Dorset

Sandra Pijamini – Grise Fiord

Leslie Qammaniq – Pond Inlet

Emily Karpik – Iqaluit

Marie Belleau – Iqaluit

Teevi Mackey – Ottawa

Romani Makkik – Iqaluit

Annabella Piugaituk – Iqaluit

The grants program awards $1,000 to five students seeking to improve their cultural or traditional skills and $1,000 to five students enrolled in academic training at a post-secondary institution. Beneficiaries of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA) are eligible for the scholarship programs.

“The Kakiniit Grants program is an indication of the importance NTI places upon supporting cultural and academic educational opportunities for Inuit,” said Towtongie. “The program has been a resounding success.”

“The success of our students will have a direct impact on Nunavut’s future, which is why our government has been pleased to support the Kakiniit Grant program,” said Premier Aariak. “Congratulations to all of the recipients, and may your year be filled with many new skills and experiences.”

This is the last year the Kakiniit Grants program will be offered. NTI replaced it with the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship Program, which offers two Inuit students $5,000 each to pursue post-secondary studies in education or Inuit language.