Media Centre

Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Memorial Scholarship Recipients Announced

(August 13, 2021 Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) President Aluki Kotierk would like to congratulate Angela Mukyungnik of Arviat and Jenna Kilabuk-Qaqqasiq of Pangnirtung on being named recipients of the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak (JAK) Memorial Scholarship for 2021.

The JAK Scholarship awards $5,000.00 annually to two (2) students who embody Jose Kusugak’s passion and dedication to education, language, and advancement of Inuit rights.

Angela and Jenna are both attending the Nunavut Teacher Education Program delivered through Nunavut Arctic College in partnership with Memorial University of Newfoundland in their respective communities.

“This year’s recipients are role models in their communities, working hard to fulfill their dreams of becoming educators in Nunavut. I am inspired by their dedication to bring their passion for language and culture into the classroom. Congratulations Angela and Jenna, and all the best in your 2021-2022 academic year.” said Aluki Kotierk, President of NTI.

NTI would like to thank all students who took the time and effort to apply for the JAK Scholarship. The next deadline for applications to the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship is July 9, 2022. Currently the Nunavut Tunngavik Foundation (NTF) is accepting applications to the Post-Secondary Scholarship and the Skills & Employment Advancement Scholarship until August 31, 2021. More information on these scholarships can be found on the NTI website at


For further information:

Malaya Mikijuk

Director of Communications Trainee

Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated

Tel: (867) 975-4900/Toll-free: 1-888-646-0006


Download (PDF, 227KB)

For further information:
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated