Media Centre

Chief Returning Officer Announced for NTI Elections for President

(July 6, 2020 – Iqaluit, Nunavut) Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI) Acting President James Eetoolook today announces that Kathleen Sigurdson, working with Ayaya Marketing & Communications, will serve as Chief Returning Officer (CRO) for the NTI Elections for President which will be held on December 14, 2020.

The nomination period for the election will run from November 9 – November 13, 2020. Eligible candidates and voters must be Canadian citizens, at least 16 years of age, and be Inuit enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement. Nomination forms can be obtained from the CRO, Community Liaison Officers, or NTI website once the nomination period opens.

Candidates are responsible for ensuring that nomination papers (including a criminal record check) are received in time by the CRO. If nomination papers are not received by the deadline, a potential candidate will not be permitted to run in the December 2020 election. Candidates may withdraw their nomination papers until November 16, 2020 at 5PM local time.

Voters in the NTI Election for President can vote using one of the five different methods, which include advance polls on December 7, 2020, mobile polls, proxy, mail-in ballot or voting in person on election day December 14, 2020.

The election date and voting processes are subject to change based on any new public health orders/advisories on COVID-19.


For further information:
Nadia Ciccone
Ayaya Communications
Tel: 867-979-1484

Malaya Mikijuk
Director, Communications Trainee
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.
Tel : 867-975-4900 Toll free : 1-888-646-0006

Download (PDF, 256KB)