Media Centre

Advance Polls, Voting Day, Poll Locations

Updated Dec. 1, 2010

(Nov. 23—Iqaluit, NU) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. will hold a by-election for president and an election for two vice-president positions on Monday, December 13, 2010.

Which positions are being elected?

The president and two vice-president positions will be elected to the NTI Board of Directors. After the election, the NTI Board will assign the successful vice-president candidates either the role of Chair of Nunavut Social Development Council or Chair of Inuit Wildlife Advisory Council.

Official president candidates

Akavak, Mikidjuk
Alainga-Kango, Natsiq
Audla, Terry
Ell, Jerry
Inuarak, Niko
Mike, Jesse
Netser, Patterk
Qaunnaq, Andrew
Sageatook, Joe
Tigullaraq, Joe
Towtongie, Cathy

Official vice-president candidates

Anawak, Jack
Eetoolook, James
Iqaqrialu, David
Ningeocheak, Raymond
Omik, Sam
Taqtu, Andrew
Tungilik, Marius

When Can I Vote?

• Advance Polls: December 6, 2010 – 10 a.m. – 7 p.m. local time
• Voting Day: December 13, 2010 – 10 a.m. – 7 p.m. local time.
• Voters can also vote by proxy.

Am I on the Voters’ List?

• NTI’s enrolment list serves as the voters’ list in NTI elections.
, 1-888-236-5400,
• If your name is not on the voters’ list on voting day, you can sign a declaration of eligibility when you go to vote.

Where Can I Vote?

Community Polling Stations


Arctic Bay Qagivik Gymnasium
Cape Dorset Hamlet Chambers
Clyde River Parish Hall
Grise Fiord Hamlet Office
Hall Beach Hamlet Chambers
Igloolik Hamlet Chambers
Iqaluit* Cadet Hall
Apex* Abe Okpik Community Hall
Kimmirut Hamlet Chambers
Pangnirtung Community Hall
Pond Inlet Community Hall
Qikitarjuaq Hamlet Office
Resolute Bay Hamlet Office
Sanikiluaq Municipal Office


Arviat Community Hall
Baker Lake Community Hall
Chesterfield Inlet Hamlet Office
Coral Harbour Hamlet Chambers
Rankin Inlet Singittuq Complex
Repluse Bay Hamlet Chambers
Whale Cove Hamlet Office


Cambridge Bay** Luke Novoligak Community Hall
Gjoa Haven Community Hall
Kugaaruk HTO
Kugluktuk Community Hall
Taloyoak Hamlet Chambers

Ottawa Tungasuvvingat Inuit

Yellowknife Larga Kitikmeot

* Advance Polls Igluvut Building
** Advance Polls Elders Wellness Centre


For more information:

Lori Idlout
Chief Returning Officer
elections @