Media Centre

Advance Polls to Open for NTI Elections

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. Chief Returning Officer Nancy Karetak-Lindell announced today that advance polls for the election of vice-president will open Dec. 1, 2014, 10 a.m. – 7 p.m. local time.

Douglas Aggark (Chesterfield Inlet), James Eetoolook (Taloyoak) and Jesse Mike (Iqaluit) submitted their nomination papers for the election of vice-president.

Voters now have five ways to vote in NTI elections. Voters can vote at advance polls on Dec. 1, on election day on Dec. 8, by mobile poll, proxy vote or mail-in ballot. All mail ballots need to be received by the Chief Returning Officer by 12 pm noon (ET) on Dec. 8 to be considered valid.

Inuit who are Canadian citizens, 16 years of age or older, and enrolled under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement are eligible to vote in the upcoming election.
Polling stations will be available in 25 Nunavut communities, Yellowknife, Edmonton, Winnipeg and Ottawa.

For further information:

Nancy Karetak-Lindell
Chief Returning Officer
Tel: (867) 979-3899 Fax: (867) 979-1487
Toll-free: 1- 844-NTI-VOTE (684-8683)